Apr 07

New CEO/General Manager at Five Star Co-op

Ken Smith

Ken Smith

NEW HAMPTON – Five Star Cooperative announced recently that its board of directors has named Ken Smith to succeed Ron Pumphrey as Chief Executive Officer/General Manager effective April 4, 2016.

Smith has nearly 25 years experience in the agriculture industry. His
most recent role was Area Manager for The Andersons, a grain, agronomy, and energy business in Northwest Iowa. He has extensive experience leading teams, providing customer solutions, risk management and developing strategic relationships. During his time at The Andersons, Smith had responsibilities in originations, transportation, hedging, budgeting and capital allocation.
Smith said, “I am honored by this appointment and excited about the opportunity to build upon a strong legacy of customer service. Five Star Cooperative has been an important partner for its members for 100 years. I am confident this team will continue to deliver solutions that will enhance member opportunities while sustaining Five Star Cooperative’s strength.”

Ken Smith Biography

Smith has served as Iowa Area Manager for The Andersons for the past seven years. Prior to his assignment in Iowa, he managed the sales and merchandising efforts for The Andersons ethanol and grain facilities in Central Indiana. He also served as the Commercial Manager for Bunge’s soy processing plant and dry corn mill in Danville, IL. Smith earned his Bachelor and Master degrees in Agricultural Economics from Purdue University.

About Five Star Cooperative

Five Star Cooperative is a diversified member owned, full service cooperative offering products and services in grain, agronomy, feed, energy and hardware to our customers and member owners throughout Northeast and North Central Iowa. Five Star is celebrating its 100th anniversary in 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>